Skip to nav Skip to content

David D. White Award and Scholarship Reception

Capital University Law School and the African American Law Alumni Association cordially invite you to the

35th Annual David D. White Award Presentation & Networking Event

Honoring Professor Daniel T. Kobil 

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

4:30pm to 6:30pm

Capital University Law School
Fourth Floor Event Space
303 E Broad St.
Columbus, OH 43215

Registration required

Register here

Professor Daniel T. Kobil



This event helps support the David D. White Scholarship Endowment at Capital University Law School, created in 1989 by the African American Law Alumni Association. 

To support the David D. White Scholarship, please go to, select the designation "Other," and manually enter "David D. White Scholarship."

Call 614-236-7129 with any questions.


2024 David D. White Award Recipient

Daniel T. Kobil

Dan Kobil is a Professor of Law at Capital University Law School in Columbus, Ohio, where he has taught principally in the areas of constitutional law and criminal procedure since 1987.  He graduated (Magna cum Laude) from the University of Toledo Law School where he was the Editor-in-Chief of the University of Toledo Law Review.  He clerked for Judge Albert J. Engel of the U.S. Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals, and thereafter was an associate in the Columbus office of Baker and Hostetler before joining the faculty of Capital University Law School in 1987.
Professor Kobil’s writings on constitutional matters have appeared in such journals as the University of Texas Law Review, the Ohio State Law Journal, and the Federal Sentencing Reporter.  Professor Kobil has also testified before Congress, written numerous newspaper articles, and made frequent media appearances on issues involving constitutional law generally, and the executive clemency power in particular.  He has helped to represent individuals on Death Row in their efforts to obtain commutation of their capital sentences.  He has also participated in cases involving constitutional issues in the United States Supreme Court and litigated a number of free speech cases in Ohio’s state and federal courts.
Previous David D. White Award Recipients

2023 Hon. Terri Jamison, L'04
2022 Cassandra Jeter Bailey, L'03
2021 Lindsay Ford Ellis, L'07
2020 Jennifer A. Adair, L'05
2019 Hon. James E. Green
2018 Fred Gittes
2017 Hon. Stephen L. McIntosh
2016 Mark Hatcher, L'06, LL.M.'06
2015 John H. Strick, II
2014 Richard C. Pfeiffer, Jr.
2013 Jerry O. Allen, '75, L'84
2012 Janet L. Green Marbley, L’79
2011 Jack A. Guttenberg
2010 Hon. H. Alfred Glascor
2009 Floyd D. Weatherspoon
2008 Douglas J. Haynes, L’81 (posthumously)
2007 Mayor Michael B. Coleman, H’01
2006 Patsy A. Thomas, L’94
2005 Hon. Algenon L. Marbley, H’00
2004 Jack G. Gibbs Jr., L’81
2003 Senator Ben Espy
2002 Larry H. James
2001 Carl D. Smallwood
2000 Hon. Yvette McGee Brown
1999 Hon. Robert M. Duncan
1998 Janet E. Jackson
1997 John W. Waddy Jr., L’78
1996 Robert J. Weiler, L’83
1995 Janice G. White, L’77
1994 Hon. John A. Howard, L’49
1993 Clenzo B. Fox, L’66
1992 Louis Bernard LaCour, L’61
1991 William T. Johnson, L’72
1990 David D. White, L’31